Children’s Rights Day – 20th November

20novembre_christian-brun_9874
On Children’s Rights Day, 20th November, thousands of Swiss children will be on the streets to show solidarity for the 168 million children in the world who have to work. They will polish shoes, play music, perform as acrobats or give out chocolate in over 100 locations spread throughout Switzerland. Under the auspices of Terre des hommes (Tdh), this event is aimed at educating school children and youth worker associations on children’s rights. The funds raised are devoted entirely to Terre des hommes’ child protection projects.

What will such street activities be like on Children's Rights Day?
Watch the video:






The funds raised by this event will be channelled into child protection projects. You can find further details on the children at work projects in Burkina Faso, Colombia, Nepal, the Palestinian territories, Togo and Morocco.

Before the event takes place, you can take away the following:
Learning materials in French or German : Terre des hommes provides teachers and youth group leaders with new pedagogical tools suited to the different ages of those taking part. These are designed to prepare school children and young people for the activities of the 20th of November and to raise awareness on the subject of children exploited for work. Terres des hommes can suggest activities on the subject of children's rights and exploitation with your class or group for 1 or 2 lessons in October and November.
Games: Because children learn better while playing, Terre des hommes recently developed interactive games to confront children to the reality of other children elsewhere. Go to our new website and learn more about Child rights: in French Comprendre les droits de l'enfant or German Kinderrechte verstehen
• We can give you ideas for making things which you can then give to passers-by on the day. Your own ideas are also very welcome e.g. street theatre etc.
• Materials for the event and for communication. Depending on the activities carried out, you will receive shoe polish, Terre des hommes chocolate for those selling on the street or in kiosks and information in the form of flyers for passers-by.
Your participation will help protect children from exploitation.

From the gold mine to school

_child-friendly-school_03528_sWorldwide, millions of children are being exploited and forced to work. 85 million of them work in extreme conditions, dangerous for their health. We reintegrate children back into their family lives or make sure they find safety and peace in an environment where they can develop. Children are accompanied by our on-site staff until they get what they are entitled to: a proper childhood and through proper education or training, the chance for a better future.

rkina_faso_00024-807_larry-c_s“My father died young and that is why my older brother and I left home. We wanted to earn some money so that we could look after our mother and younger siblings. From dawn until dusk, we went down narrow tunnels looking for gold, barely stopping to rest. We barely got enough to eat and most of the time, we didn't even get paid.” Discover the full journey of Joseph 30 meters underground (content in French or German)

Thanks to the work of Tdh, a school in the area was found for Patrice (11) while his brother Joseph (13) was able to take advantage of a training programme and an apprenticeship as a welder.

Last Year

neuchatel_marin_2013_tdhIn 2013, nearly 3,700 children and young people in more than 140 locations in Switzerland took to the streets to shine shoes and give away the things they made and Terre des hommes chocolate in return for a donation and in doing so, educated passers-by on the situation of exploited children around the world.

When?
This event with schools will take place throughout Switzerland between the 19th and 21st of November, 2014 . You can choose from these dates or another which suits you better.

Information and registration
By email: events@tdh.ch, telephone: 058 611 07 84 or directly using the online form

New in 2014

For the 25th UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, Terre des hommes is running a competition in Swiss schools.

This competition is aimed at educating young people and encouraging them to think and take part in fruitful exchanges on the subject of children's rights with the subsequent aim of educating the Swiss population on this subject.

We recommend a project group made up of a maximum of 10 school children. The groups may choose the format of their project freely e.g. text format, blog, film, audio recording or painting. Each group carries it out in the week of November 20th. A report from each group, with details of the project plan, its implementation and the results obtained, must then be sent to Terre des hommes by the 15th of January, 2015 .

A specialist jury will consider the projects presented and will award the Ambassadors of Children's Rights Prize to the winning group.

The winning group and its supervising teacher will travel to a Terre des hommes intervention country, with their safety assured by experienced Terre des hommes workers.

Want to take part?
Order our informational brochure and registration form by writing to: events@tdh.ch or calling 058 611 07 84

Download the rules of the competition and the important steps from a project.

Gallery

Keep in touch

Follow the news of Tdh by receiving our newsletter

Tag der Kinderrechte – 20. November

20novembre_christian-brun_9874
Zum UNO-Kinderrechtstag am 20. November gehen in der Schweiz tausende Kinder auf die Strasse, um sich für die weltweit mehr als 168 Millionen Minderjährigen, die tatsächlich als Kinder schuften müssen, einzusetzen. Sie putzen zum Beispiel Schuhe, bieten auf der Strasse Schokolade und Bastelarbeiten gegen eine Spende an oder versuchen sich als Strassenkünstler. Die Veranstalterin dieser Aktion, Terre des hommes (Tdh), das grösste Schweizer Kinderhilfswerk, sensibilisiert zudem Kinder in Schulklassen und Jugendgruppen, indem sie Schulbesuche anbietet und die Kinder durch pädagogische interaktive Spiele auf die Problematik von ausgebeuteten Kindern aufmerksam macht und die Kinderrechte propagiert. Die gesammelten Spenden werden vollumfänglich den Kinderschutz-Projekten von Terre des hommes überwiesen.

Wie läuft die Strassenaktion zum Kinderrechtstag ab?

Unser Video vermittelt Ihnen einen lebhaften und übersichtlichen Einblick in unsere Aktion







Der Erlös dieser Aktion fliesst in Kinderschutz-Massnahmen von Terre des hommes.
Informieren Sie sich über diese Kinderschutz-Massnahmen zugunsten von ausgebeuteten Kindern anhand konkreter Beispiele in unseren Projekten in Burkina Faso, in Kolumbien, in Nepal, in den palästinensischen Gebieten, in Togo und in Marokko.

Bevor die Aktion beginnt, können Sie von uns Folgendes erhalten:
Pädagogische Lehrblätter: Terre des hommes stellt Lehrern und Leitern von Jugendgruppen neue pädagogische Lehrmittel zur Verfügung, die an das Alter der Teilnehmer angepasst sind. Sie wurden entwickelt, um Schüler und Jugendliche auf die Aktion am 20. November vorzubereiten und sie für das Thema „Ausbeutung von Kindern durch Arbeit“ zu sensibilisieren. Wir bieten einen Gratisbesuch in Ihrer Klasse oder Gruppe von 1 oder 2 Schulstunden während der Monate Oktober und November an.
Spiele: Weil Kinder besser spielerisch lernen, hat Terre des hommes interaktive Spiele entwickelt, die ihnen ermöglichen, sich mit der Lebenswirklichkeit von Gleichaltrigen auseinanderzusetzen. Besuchen Sie unsere neue Website Kinderrechte verstehen
• Aktions- und Kommunikations-Material. Beispielsweise erhalten Sie Schuhputzmittel für die Schuhputzer, Schokolade für die Bauchläden und Stände und Plakate und Flyer als Informationsmaterial für die Passanten.
• Nützliche Bastelideen, welche sie selbst umsetzen können, um anschliessend den Passanten anbieten zu können. Selbstverständlich dürfen sie diese mit eigenen kreativen Ideen erweitern (z.B. Strassentheater)!
Ihr Einsatz schützt Kinder vor Ausbeutung!

Von der Goldmine in die Schule.

_child-friendly-school_03528_sMillionen Kinder werden weltweit unter ausbeuterischen Bedingungen zur Arbeit gezwungen. 85 Millionen davon unter extremen Bedingungen, die ihre Sicherheit und ihre Gesundheit gefährden. Wir bringen die Kinder zurück zu ihren Familien oder sorgen für Geborgenheit und Sicherheit in einer liebevollen Umgebung. Die Kinder werden von unseren Mitarbeitenden vor Ort so lange begleitet, bis sie durch eine Schul- oder Ausbildung die Chance auf eine bessere Zukunft erhalten.

rkina_faso_00024-807_larry-c_s«Mein Vater ist früh gestorben. Deshalb sind mein älterer Bruder und ich von Zuhause weg gegangen Wir wollten Geld verdienen, um für unsere Mutter und die jüngeren Geschwister zu sorgen. Wir mussten von Sonnenauf- bis untergang in den engen Stollen nach Gold suchen. Beinahe ohne Pause. Wir bekamen kaum zu essen und den versprochenen Lohn bezahlten sie uns meist auch nicht.» Gehen Sie weiter zu Josephs Arbeitsplatz, 30 Meter unter der Erde

Dank dem Einsatz von Terre des hommes wurde für den elfjährigen Patrice eine Schule in der näheren Umgebung gefunden und sein Bruder (13) wurde in ein Ausbildungsprogramm aufgenommen und konnte eine Lehre zum Schweisser machen.

Letztes Jahr

neuchatel_marin_2013_tdh2013 gingen nahezu 3700 Kinder an 140 Orten der Schweiz auf die Strasse, um als „Strassenkinder“ mit Schuhputzmaterial und Bauchladen auf die Situation von ausgebeuteten Kindern in der Welt hinzuweisen. Insgesamt wurden 150‘000 Schweizer Franken gesammelt. Der Erlös dieser Aktion fliesst in Tdh-Kinderschutz-Massnahmen.

Wann?
Unsere Aktion mit Schulen und Jugendgruppen findet schweizweit vom 19. bis zum 21. November 2014 statt. Ihr Aktionsdatum können Sie selbst auswählen. Ein anderes Datum ist auch möglich.

Auskunft & Anmeldung
Per E-Mail: events@tdh.ch, Telefon: 058 611 06 58 oder Online Anmeldung (auch mit dem orangenen Knopf ganz oben).

Neu im 2014!

Anlässlich des 25. Jubiläumsjahrs des UN-Übereinkommens über die Rechte des Kindes lanciert Terre des hommes einen Wettbewerb mit Schweizer Gymnasien.

Dieser Wettbewerb zielt darauf hin, Jugendliche auf das Thema Kinderrechte zu sensibilisieren, sie zum Nachdenken anzuregen und den Austausch zu fördern, um anschliessend wiederum die Schweizer Bevölkerung auf diese Thematik zu sensibilisieren.

Wir empfehlen, eine Projektgruppe von maximal 10 Schülern zu bilden. Die Gruppen können das Format ihrer Arbeit frei wählen, zum Beispiel in Form eines Textes oder Tabelle, als Blog-, Film- oder Tonaufnahme. Jede Gruppe setzt ihr Projekt in der Woche vom 20. November 2014 um, und sendet bis zum 15. Januar 2015 an Terre des hommes einen Bericht, welcher die Planung, Umsetzung und Ergebnisse des Projektes dokumentiert.

Eine Fachjury beurteilt die vorgestellten Projekte und vergibt den Botschafterpreis der Kinderrechte an die gewählte Gewinnergruppe.

Terre des hommes offeriert der Gewinnergruppe und einer begleitenden Lehrperson eine Reise in eines ihrer Einsatzländer unter Berücksichtigung des sicherheitstechnischen Aspekts und im Beisein von erfahrenen Terre des hommes-Mitarbeitenden.

Lust dabei zu sein? Bestellen Sie unsere Aktionsbroschüre mit Anmeldetalon über: events@tdh.ch – Tel.: 058 611 07 84.

Das Reglement vom Wettbewerb und die Ratschläge für die Realisierung wichtiger Projektetappen herunterladen.

Foto-Galerie

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter