Skip to content

Nepal

nepal.jpg

Active in Nepal since 1985, Terre des hommes (Tdh) runs projects dealing with health, nutrition, water supply, sanitation and hygiene promotion and child protection. In 2012, more than 63’000 people benefited from the activities implemented.

Context

After years of turmoil, the political situation in Nepal is still unstable with frequent strikes that regularly paralyse the economy. Climate change also leads to food shortage deepening the population’s already weakened situation. Children are especially vulnerable. Health and WASH wise, they suffer from malnutrition, poor standards of care and environmental hazards. Mothers lack the knowledge to recognise the early signs of illness and are often powerless to treat or prevent them. The lack of antenatal and postnatal care is responsible for thousands of preventable deaths every year, with one out of 25 children dying during the first month of their life. Education wise, many poor families are unable to cope with the costs involved. Gender and social discrimination deepens the vulnerability of girls and Dalits. Children are moreover faced with violence, abuse, exploitation and trafficking.

Centered at 84.12408 28.394857 6

Children's situation

  • 7 million of adolescents live in the country (aged 10-19)
  • 50 children out of 1000 die before the age of 5 (CH: 5‰)
  • 19% of birth are attended by skilled health personnel
  • 34% of the children work
  • 51% of the children marry before 18

Delegate: Jason Squire
Expatriate staff: 1
National staff: 17
Budget: 939'206 CHF

In collaboration with: Hospital & Rehabilitation Center for Disabled Children (HRDC), Chhimeki, RICOD, Center for Mental Health & Counselling, Shakti Samuha

Orthopaedic rehabilitation – Trainings, mobile camps, specific treatments and follow-up home visits enable physically disabled children to reach optimal functional independence and to facilitate their social reintegration.

Anti-child trafficking –Tdh in partnership with Shakti Samuha has been running a holistic anti-trafficking project addressing prevention, legal services, safe and voluntary repatriation and rehabilitation, integration and alternative care. This project aspires to prevent children vulnerable to trafficking; aid trafficking survivors to get justice; pave a safe and protected way for trafficking survivors to return and ensure them protected rehabilitation and effective integration.

Integrated Child Protection Programme – Following a decade of child protection programming in the Mid-West Region (MWR) of Nepal, Tdh is intensifying its intervention in order to meet the needs of some of the country’s most vulnerable children and communities. Based on the outcomes of action-oriented research conducted in 2012, Tdh has devised an integrated model that aims to create synergies between actions in the fields of protection, health and WASH, with a view to strengthening the protective environment at national, district and village level.

*Thanks to Terre des hommes, 1296 children were able to escape from sexual exploitation.
*The adolescent group supported by Tdh carried out prevention activities against child trafficking in villages and 96 child victims received psychosocial support.

  • In Kathmandu, the health of migrant workers was improved, and 719 children and 2640 family members benefited from access to drinking water and sanitation structures.
  • In total, 1604 children received nutritional aid and 6300 expectant mothers were able to obtain medical treatment.
  • In 20 communities, child-protection systems were strengthened and 1949 children were taken into care.
  • A total of 2905 reconstructive surgeries were carried out to treat handicapped children, and Tdh used community based rehabilitation activities to improve living conditions for 12,247 children.

Testimonial

Sita Thapa (name changed), a married woman working as transporter in brick kiln of Kathmandu became pregnant after she was raped by a relative. She knew that she would be treated badly and even physically abused if she returned to her home.

- Sita Thapa, Tdh beneficiary in Nepal

Read more

Passer au contenu

Népal

nepal.jpg

Active au Népal depuis 1985, Terre des hommes (Tdh) mène des projets de santé, nutrition, alimentation en eau, promotion de l'assainissement et de l'hygiène et protection de l’enfance. En 2012, plus de 63'000 personnes ont bénéficié des activités menées.

Le contexte

Après des années de conflit, la situation politique du Népal est toujours instable avec des grèves fréquentes qui paralysent régulièrement l’économie. Les changements climatiques entraînent également des manques de nourriture qui touchent une population déjà fragilisée. Les enfants sont particulièrement vulnérables. En matière de santé et d'eau, ils souffrent de malnutrition, d’une faible qualité de soins et de dangers environnementaux. Les mères manquent de connaissance pour faire face aux signes avant-coureurs de maladie et n’ont pas les connaissances pour y faire face ou les prévenir. Le manque de soins pré et post-nataux est responsable de milliers de décès qui pourraient être empêchés, avec un enfant sur 25 mourant avant l’âge d’un mois. En matière d’éducation, de nombreuses familles pauvres ne peuvent en assumer les coûts. Les discriminations liées au genre et aux groupes sociaux renforcent la vulnérabilité des filles et des dalits. Les enfants sont en plus sujets aux violences, abus, exploitations et trafics.

Centered at 84.12408 28.394857 6

La situation des enfants

  • 7 millions d'adolescents vivent au Népal (âgés de 10 à 19 ans)
  • 50 enfants sur 1’000 meurent avant l’âge de 5 ans (CH: 5‰)
  • 19% des naissances sont assistées par un personnel qualifié
  • 34% des enfants travaillent
  • 51% des enfants sont mariés avant l’âge de 18 ans

Délégué: Jason Squire
Personnel expatrié: 1
Personnel national: 17
Budget: 939'206 CHF

Mise en œuvre conjointe avec: Hôpital orthopédique HRDC, Chhimeki, RICOD, Center for Mental Health and Counseling, Shakti Samuha

Réhabilitation orthopédique – Les formations, camps mobiles, traitements spécifiques et des visites de suivi à domicile permettent à des enfants avec handicap d'atteindre une indépendance fonctionnelle optimale et de faciliter leur réintégration sociale.

Lutte contre la traite des enfants –Tdh, en partenariat avec Shakti Samuha, a mené un projet holistique contre la traite des enfants à travers la prévention, des services légaux, le rapatriement et la réhabilitation sûrs et volontaires, l'intégration et les soins alternatifs. Ce projet vise à protéger les enfants vulnérables à la traite, à aider les survivants de la traite à obtenir justice, à ouvrir une voie sûre et protégée aux survivants de la traite pour rentrer et à leur assurer une réhabilitation sûre et une intégration efficace.

Programme intégré de protection des enfants – Après une décennie de programme de protection des enfants dans la région mid-ouest (RMO) du Népal, Tdh intensifie son intervention afin de répondre aux besoins de certains des enfants et communautés les plus vulnérables du pays. À partir des résultats de la recherche menée en 2012, Tdh a conçu un modèle intégré qui vise à créer des synergies entre les actions dans les domaines de la protection, la santé et WASH, dans l’intention de renforcer l'environnement de protection aux niveaux national, du district et du village.

  • Grâce à Terre des hommes, 1296 enfants ont pu sortir de l’exploitation sexuelle.
  • Les groupes d'adolescents soutenus par Tdh ont mis en place des activités de prévention contre le trafic d’enfant dans les villages et 96 enfants victimes ont reçu un soutien psychosocial.
  • A Katmandou, la santé des travailleurs migrants a été améliorée : 719 enfants et 2640 membres de familles ont bénéficié d’un accès à l’eau potable et d’installations sanitaires.
  • 1604 enfants ont reçu un soutien nutritionnel et 6300 femmes enceintes ont pu obtenir des soins médicaux.
  • Dans 20 communautés, les systèmes de protection de l’enfance ont été renforcés et 1949 enfants ont été pris en charge.
  • 2905 opérations reconstructives ont été réalisées pour soigner des enfants handicapés et par des activités communautaires, Tdh a amélioré les conditions de vie de 12 247 enfants.

Témoignage

Sita Thapa (nom changé), une femme mariée travaillant comme porteuse dans une briqueterie de Katmandou est tombée enceinte après avoir été violée par un membre de sa famille. Elle savait qu’elle serait rejetée voir abusée si elle rentrait chez elle.

- Sita Thapa, bénéficiaire de Tdh au Népal

Lire plus