IeDA - A digital solution to save children's lives

IeDA strengthens primary health care in rural areas in West Africa through innovation: the tool on digital tablets improves children’s medical treatment thanks to a better diagnosis.

IeDA*: four letters to improve children’s healthcare in West Africa. This approach is based on the WHO clinical protocol (IMCI) and guides health personnel to accurately diagnose sick children. Data is stored and processed for analysis, reporting and quality control improvements.  IeDA was launched by Tdh in 2014 as a pilot project in 39 centres in the Tougan district in Burkina Faso.

 

A better diagnosis

What used to be a pilot project in one district is now a major technological innovation: IeDA has been deployed in almost 40 per cent of all health centres (over 720) in Burkina Faso and its use has spread to Mali in late 2017. Several thousand health professionals use IeDA and run more than 200,000 consultations each month. This is a major achievement for the health of children, especially in rural areas: diagnosis has improved and treatment is more adapted to the children’s medical needs. With more than two million children consulted with the help of this tool, Tdh has made a further step towards guaranteeing the right to health to the children of West Africa.

 

Data to help understand the local situation

In Burkina Faso, IeDA is an important source of first-hand information for the national vital statistics. Real-time data collection provides valuable and essential information to monitor early warning for epidemic outbreaks.

 

Training staff

Through e-learning, IeDA also develops the competences of local staff in rural areas. “This is another advantage of this product: it includes coaching and supervision systems, and enables us to improve health care workers' training, making them more efficient at diagnosing and treating patients,” says Thierry Agagliate, project co-founder.

 

Impact

The goal of IeDA is to make qualitative health care sustainable in West Africa. The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) has been evaluating its impact and cost in Burkina Faso. In the centres implementing IeDA, 92% of the consultations of children under five are made with the innovation. Results clearly show the high acceptance of the tool and a reduction between 6 and 15% of antibiotics over prescription. When IeDA is used, there is a 50% improvement in adherence to the IMCI protocol. If scaled up to the whole country, there would be CHF 33 to 66 savings per centre each month.

Watch the video interview with Karl Blanchet, IeDA Research Director

 

Outlook

In 2018, we launched a consortium with World Vision and Action contre la Faim to integrate the management of malnutrition and expand the tool in neighboring countries. In the future, Tdh will develop powerful algorithms using Artificial Intelligence to assess the quality of medical consultations in real time and to assist medical teams in different contexts.

 

*IeDA: Integrated e-Diagnostic Approach

 

Watch our documentary about the first years of IeDA in Burkina Faso:

 

 

 

We are proud to work on this project with:

  • The Ministry of Health from Burkina Faso and Mali;

  • Dimagi (USA), our technological partner developing and maintaining the applications;

  • The LSHTM (UK), running three independent studies which evaluate the project impact, cost-effectiveness and feasibility;

  • Swiss TPH, to improve the algorithm and project analysis;

  • EPFL, working with IeDA to develop new tools to improve diagnostic of malnutrition;

  • University Hospital of Geneva (Switzerland), undertaking research to mine and extrapolate data's meaning.

 

For more information visit: www.ieda-project.org

 

"We have drastically reduced the number of incorrect diagnoses thanks to IeDA and the children benefit from better treatment."

Dr. Robert Kargougou, Secretary General for the Ministry of Health of Burkina Faso

Read more...
 

Where we work

Supported by

Timeline

2011
Pilot project launched in three districts in Burkina Faso (Yako, Tougan, Séguénéga) with the REC (“Registre Electronique de Consultation” or Digital Patient Record System). This REC 1.0 is used on notebooks.
2014
REC 2.0 developed and launched in the three pilot districts. The REC is now a mobile application used on a tablet.
2015-2016
The REC is deployed in more districts to reach 270 clinics.
2016
E-learning application launched. Health care workers can increase their medical knowledge to better treat patients.
2017
Deployment of IeDA in 30% of Burkina Faso's health centres and in 40 centres in Mali.

Latest news

See all...

leDA - eine innovative Technologie, um Kinderleben zu retten

leDA stärkt mit einer Innovation die medizinische Grundversorgung in ländlichen Gebieten Westafrikas: eine Tablet-basierte mobile Anwendung verbessert durch bessere Diagnose die medizinische Versorgung von Kindern.

leDA*: Vier Buchstaben, um das Leben von Kindern in Westafrika zu verbessern. Die App basiert auf dem klinischen Protokoll (IMCI) der WHO und führt das Gesundheitspersonal durch die Diagnose bei der Behandlung von kranken Kindern. Die Daten werden zu Analyse-, Berichterstattungs- und Qualitätskontrollzwecken gespeichert und verarbeitet. leDA wurde von Tdh 2014 als Pilotprojekt in 39 Zentren im Departement Tougan in Burkina Faso eingeführt.

 

Eine bessere Diagnose

Was als Pilotprojekt in einem Departement begann, ist heute eine wichtige technologische Innovation: beinahe 40% aller Gesundheitszentren (mehr als 720) in Burkina Faso benutzen mittlerweile leDA. Ende 2017 wurde leDA auch in Mali eingeführt. Tausende von Gesundheitsexperten setzen leDA jeden Monat bei mehr als 200,000 medizinischen Untersuchungen in Burkina Faso ein. Ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Gesundheitsversorgung von Kindern in ländlichen Gebieten: die Diagnose ist einfacher und die Behandlungen können auf die medizinischen Bedürfnisse der Kinder abgestimmt werden. Mit mehr als zwei Millionen Kindern, die mit diesem Tool untersucht worden sind, hat Tdh weiter dazu beigetragen, das Recht auf Gesundheit von Kindern in Westafrika zu garantieren.

 

Daten zum besseren Verständnis der Situation vor Ort

In Burkina Faso liefert IeDA wichtige Informationen aus erster Hand für die nationale Bevölkerungsstatistik. Die Datenerhebung in Echtzeit gibt wertvolle und wichtige Informationen, um Anzeichen einer sich ausbreitenden Epidemie frühzeitig zu erkennen.

 

Schulung des Personals

Durch E-Learning stärkt leDA die Kompetenz des Personals vor Ort in ländlichen Gegenden. «Dies ist ein weiterer Vorteil dieses Produkts: Es verfügt über Coaching- und Supervision-Systeme, und ermöglicht uns, die Ausbildung von Beschäftigen des Gesundheitswesens zu verbessern, um die Diagnose und Behandlung vom Patienten effizienter zu machen», sagt Thierry Agagliate, Mitbegründer des Projekts.

 

Resultate

Ziel von leDA ist es, die qualitative Gesundheitsversorgung in Westafrika nachhaltig zu gestalten. Die London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine hat den Effekt und die Kosten von leDA in Burkina Faso bewertet. In den Gesundheitszentren, die IeDA anwenden, werden 92% der Kinder unter fünf Jahren mit der Innovation diagnostiziert. Die Ergebnisse belegen deutlich die hohe Akzeptanz und einen Rückgang übermässiger Verschreibung von Medikamenten zwischen 6 und 15%. Wenn IeDA benutzt wird, kann man eine Verbesserung von 50% in der Einhaltung des IMCI-Protokolls feststellen. Eine landesweite Implementierung würde die Kosten pro Gesundheitszentrum von 33 bis 66 CHF im Monat senken.

Schauen Sie das Interview von Karl Blanchet, Forschungsleiter des IeDA-Projekts

 

Ausblick

2018 haben wir gemeinsam mit World Vision und Aktion gegen den Hunger ein Konsortium ins Leben gerufen, um das Thema Unterernährung im Tool zu integrieren und um den Einsatz auf die Nachbarländer auszudehnen. In Zukunft wird Tdh leistungsstarke Algorithmen mit Hilfe der künstlichen Intelligenz entwickeln, um die Qualität der medizinischen Konsultationen in Echtzeit zu bewerten und medizinische Teams in verschiedenen Kontexten zu unterstützen.

 

Sehen Sie sich unseren Dokumentarfilm in Burkina Faso an:

 

 

 

Wir sind stolz auf die Zusammenarbeit mit:

  • Gesundheitsministerium von Burkina Faso und Mali;

  • Dimagi (USA), unserem Technologiepartner, der die Apps entwickelt und wartet;

  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (UK), die drei unabhängige Studien durchführt, um die Projektwirkung, Kosteneffizienz und Machbarkeit zu untersuchen;

  • Schweizerisches TPH - Verbesserung des Algorithmus und Projektanalyse;

  • EPFL, die mit IeDA arbeitet - Entwicklung neuer Tools zur Verbesserung der Diagnostik bei Unterernährung;

  • Universitätsspital Genf (Schweiz), das forscht, um Daten nutzbar zu machen und deren Bedeutung zu erschliessen.

 

Mehr erfahren: www.ieda-project.org

 

„Dank IeDA konnten wir die Anzahl von Fehldiagnosen drastisch senken. Kinder erhalten so eine bessere Behandlung.“

Dr. Robert Kargougou, Generalsekretär des Gesundheitsministeriums von Burkina Faso

Zum vollständigen Erfahrungsbericht
 

Einsatzgebiete

Mit Unterstützung von

Geschichte

2011
Pilotprojekt in drei Distrikten Burkina Fasos (Yako, Tougan, Séguénéga) mit REC («Registre Electronique de Consultation» bzw. «Digitales Patientenerfassungssystem»). REC 1.0 wird auf Notebooks verwendet.
2014
Entwicklung und Lancierung von REC 2.0 in den drei Pilotdistrikten. Das REC ist jetzt eine mobile App für Tablets.
2015-2016
Das REC wird in weiteren Distrikten eingeführt, um 270 Kliniken zu erreichen.
2016
Lancierung der E-Learning App. Gesundheitspersonal kann sein medizinisches Wissen verbessern, um Patienten besser zu behandeln.
2018
IeDA wird in 30% der Gesundheitszentren von Burkina Faso und in 40 Zentren in Mali angewendet.
Courage Nr. 57 - Kann die Digitalisierung Leben retten?
Bulletin humanitaire OCHA_Mali_IeDA_2016
Coupure de presse_IeDA_2016

Die letzten Neuigkeiten

Lesen Sie mehr dazu...