Tsunami in Indonesia
Thousands of families have been affected Read more

IeDA - An innovative online technology to save children's lives

IeDA strengthens primary health care in rural areas in West Africa through innovation: the mobile application on digital tablets improves children’s medical treatment thanks to a better diagnosis.

IeDA*: four letters to improve children’s healthcare in West Africa. This application is based on the WHO clinical protocol (IMCI) and guides health personnel to diagnose accurately sick children. Data is stored and processed for analyses, reporting and quality control improvements.  IeDA was launched by Tdh in 2011 as a pilot project in 39 centres in the Tougan district in Burkina Faso.

 

A better diagnosis

What used to be a pilot project in one district is now a major technological innovation: IeDA has been deployed in 30 per cent of all health centres (over 620) in Burkina Faso and its use has spread to Mali in late 2017. 2600 health professionals use IeDA and run 180,000 consultations in Burkina Faso each month. This is a major achievement for the health of children, especially in rural areas: diagnosis has improved and treatment is more adapted to the children’s medical needs. With more than 1.5 million children consulted with the help of this tool, Tdh has made a further step towards guaranteeing the right to health to the children of West Africa.

 

Data to help understand the local situation

In Burkina Faso, IeDA is an important source of first-hand information for the national vital statistics. Real-time data collection provides valuable and essential information to monitor early warning for epidemic outbreaks.

 

Training staff

Through e-learning, IeDA also develops the competences of local staff in rural areas. “This is another advantage of this product: it includes coaching and supervision systems, and enables us to improve health care workers training, making them more efficient at diagnosing and treating patients,” says Thierry Agagliate, project co-founder.

 

Outlook

The goal of IeDA is to make qualitative health care sustainable in West Africa. With Burkina Faso and Mali  using it in their centres, it already shows substantial impact. The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicines (LSHTM) has been evaluating its impact and cost. Preliminary results clearly show high acceptance and reduction of medicines prescription. In 2018, we launched a consortium with World Vision and Action contre la Faim to integrate the management of malnutrition and expand the tool in neighboring countries.

*IeDA: Integrated e-Diagnostic Approach

 

Watch our documentary in Burkina Faso:

 

 

 

We are proud to work on this project with:

  • The Ministry of Health from Burkina Faso and Mali;

  • Dimagi (USA), our technological partner developing and maintaining the applications;

  • The LSHTM (UK), running three independent studies which evaluate the project impact, cost-effectiveness and feasibility;

  • Swiss TPH, to improve the algorithm and project analysis;

  • EPFL, working with IeDA to develop new tools to improve diagnostic of malnutrition;

  • University Hospital of Geneva (Switzerland), undertaking research to mine and extrapolate data's meaning.

 

For more information visit: www.ieda-project.org

 

"We have drastically reduced the number of incorrect diagnoses thanks to IeDA and the children benefit from better treatment."

Dr. Robert Kargougou, Secretary General for the Ministry of Health of Burkina Faso

Read more...
 

Where we work

Supported by

Timeline

2011
Pilot project launched in three districts in Burkina Faso (Yako, Tougan, Séguénéga) with the REC (“Registre Electronique de Consultation” or Digital Patient Record System). This REC 1.0 is used on notebooks.
2014
REC 2.0 developed and launched in the three pilot districts. The REC is now a mobile application used on a tablet.
2015-2016
The REC is deployed in more districts to reach 270 clinics.
2016
E-learning application launched. Health care workers can increase their medical knowledge to better treat patients.
2017
Deployment of IeDA in 30% of Burkina Faso's health centres and in 40 centres in Mali.

Latest news

See all...

Tsunami en Indonésie
Des milliers de familles affectées Lire plus

IeDA – Une technologie innovante pour sauver des enfants

IeDA renforce les soins de santé primaire dans les zones rurales d’Afrique de l’Ouest grâce à une technologie innovante: une application mobile sur des tablettes numériques améliore la qualité des diagnostics ainsi que la prise en charge médicale des enfants.

IeDA*: quatre lettres pour améliorer les soins de santé prodigués aux enfants en Afrique de l'Ouest. Cette application est basée sur le protocole clinique de la Prise en charge intégrée des maladies de l'enfant (PCIME) de l'OMS et aide le personnel de santé à diagnostiquer les maladies des enfants avec exactitude. Les données sont conservées et traitées à des fins d'analyses, de publications et d'améliorations du contrôle de la qualité. Tdh a lancé IeDA en 2011 en tant que projet pilote dans 39 centres de santé du district de Tougan au Burkina Faso.

 

Un meilleur diagnostic

Ce qui était d'abord un projet pilote dans un district est devenu une innovation technologique majeure: IeDA a été déployé dans 30% des centres de santé (plus de 620) au Burkina Faso et son utilisation s'est répandue au Mali fin 2017. 2600 professionnels de la santé utilisent IeDA et effectuent 180’000 consultations chaque mois au Burkina Faso. Ce sont des progrès considérables pour la santé des enfants, en particulier dans les zones rurales : la qualité des diagnostics s'est améliorée et les traitements sont plus adaptés aux besoins médicaux des enfants. Avec plus de 1,5 million d'enfants consultés à l'aide de cet outil, Tdh a fait un pas en avant pour garantir aux enfants d'Afrique de l'Ouest le droit à la santé.

 

Données pour mieux comprendre la situation locale

Au Burkina Faso, IeDA a enregistré plus d'enfants que le registre national de l'état civil et constitue donc une importante source d'informations de première main pour les statistiques nationales de l'état civil. La collecte de données en temps réel fournit des informations précieuses et essentielles pour déceler les signes avant-coureurs d'épidémies.

 

Formation du personnel

IeDA développe également les compétences du personnel local dans les zones rurales grâce au e-learning. Thierry Agagliate, co-fondateur du projet, ajoute: «Un autre avantage de cet outil est qu’il inclut des modules de coaching et de supervision qui améliorent la formation du personnel médical, le rendant plus efficace en matière de diagnostic et de traitement.»

 

Perspectives

IeDA vise à maintenir des soins de santé de qualité en Afrique de l'Ouest. Son utilisation dans les centres du Burkina Faso et du Mali démontre déjà son impact considérable. L’École d'hygiène et de médecine tropicale de Londres évalue son impact et son coût. Les résultats préliminaires confirment que l'outil a été largement accepté et que la prescription de médicaments a diminué. En 2018, nous nous sommes unis à World Vision et Action contre la Faim pour intégrer la gestion de la malnutrition et déployer l'outil dans les pays voisins.

 

*Integrated e-Diagnostic Approach

 

Découvrez notre reportage au Burkina Faso:

 

Nous sommes fiers de collaborer sur ce projet avec :

 

Pour plus d’information visitez: www.ieda-project.org

 

«Grâce à IeDA, nous avons drastiquement réduit le nombre de diagnostics erronés. Les enfants bénéficient ainsi d’un meilleur traitement.»

Dr Robert Kargougou, Secrétaire Général du Ministère de la Santé du Burkina Faso

Lire la suite...
 

Lieux d'intervention

Avec le soutien de

Historique

2011
Lancement du projet pilote REC (Registre Electronique des Consultations) dans deux centres de santé au Burkina Faso. L’outil est utilisé sur ordinateur.
2012
Amélioration de l’outil REC, qui devient le REC 2.0.
2014
Naissance de IeDA. La technologie du REC est transférée sur des tablettes numériques.
2015
Le REC est déployé au Mali sur demande du gouvernement.
2016
Déploiement dans 69 nouveaux centres de santé au Burkina Faso. Création également d’un module de e-learning.
2017
IeDA est deployé dans 30% des centres de santé au Burkina Faso et dans 40 centres au Mali.
Courage n°57 - Le numérique peut-il sauver des vies?
Bulletin humanitaire OCHA_Mali_IeDA_2016
Coupure de presse_IeDA_2016

Dernières actualités

Voir toutes les actualités...